Circuit training for all

I spent the day today as Miss R, the sport teacher. My motto for the day

My day was eye-opening, fun, exhausting and full of on-going activity. One thing I learned – that circuit training is the bomb! It involves setting up different stations, each with a different activity which works on a specific skill, muscle group or aerobic activity.

Why I ❤ Circuit Training 

1) Circuit training is great at any age and for any fitness level.

2) It can help increase strength and aerobic fitness; improve and extend skills in different areas.

2) Perfect for those with a short attention span.. Every few minutes you are doing something new, working a different part of your body and setting yourself a new challenge.

3) Easy to adapt to individual fitness and skills levels. 

4) Can be executed with little or no equipment at all. Think pushups, planks, star jumps, burpees… the list goes on.

5) Circuits can be FUN! After all I have a no smile, no play policy…
So if you are looking for a way to boost your activity levels in the comfort of your own home, why not set up a circuit? 

The most refreshing part of my day today was seeing the students
🙂 Willingly participate
🙂 Challenge themselves and
🙂 LOVE every minute of being outdoors and being active

So my question to you is when does it all change?
When and WHY does exercise become a burden for so many of us? 

On the topic of being active, my day ended with an amazing spin class with my sis…

So I conclude by saying circuits are good, but if it’s not for you then try spin 🙂

*Please not: I am a teacher – not a personal trainer, these are my thoughts based on my own personal experiences as a sport-teacher-for-a-day and as a fitness enthusiast 🙂 Feel free to leave me a comment with any of your added thoughts!

17 thoughts on “Circuit training for all

  1. I used to love circuit training before I got injured!
    I can’t wait to get right back into it as soon as I can 🙂
    I’ve just done my Cert 3 in fitness, and the group fitness instructor elective, and what you said is totally right: the possibilities are endless with circuits! you can make them for pregnant women, elite athletes, older people…

    and as for spinning, well, that’s the only thing i’ve been able to do for the last 7 weeks; so i’ve had to learn to love it!

  2. Circuit workouts are great–they engage different muscle groups, keep you focused, and make for a challenging full-body workout! I also love spinning, too 🙂

  3. I was on a roll for awhile, exercising an hour a day five times a week. But law school finals really take it out of me, so I had to put it on hold for that and it has been really difficult to get back on the ball. I am working on it tho!! Also, spin is amazing, I love it. Maybe getting back into that will remotivate me!

  4. Pingback: Tips to make your morning better | My love affair with running

  5. Pingback: Wholemeal Pizza recipe and Weekend Motivation | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

