Wholemeal Pizza recipe and Weekend Motivation

Last night I decide to make my own pizza dough. I looked up a few different recipes and combined them to form this.. a simple yeast-free wholemeal pizza dough.

Pizza Dough Ingredients
2.5 cups Wholemeal flour
2.5 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt
1 cup Water
1 tbsp Olive Oil

It literally took 2 minutes to combine all the ingredients in a bowl and knead it into a nice soft ball of loveliness. I then covered it and let it sit for a while, as I waited for Josh to get home from training.

About 30 minutes before serving, I used my hands to flatten the dough into a nice circular shape and placed in onto a greased baking tray. I baked this in a 200 degree celcius oven for 10 minutes (with no toppings!).

Once the base came out the oven it was nicely golden and held it’s shape well. Then onto the toppings. I covered it in tomato paste, fresh tomatoes (my best on a pizza), red onion, kalamata olives and mozzarella cheese.

Then baked it for approximately 20 minutes.

Served with a fresh green salad topped with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

It was delish! The recipe does need some refining, as it was quite dense. Any tips on making it lighter and less dense? Perhaps I needed to roll it thinner? But I will call it a success as we got through it with great ease 🙂

***

This morning was my beautiful cousin Lauren’s 30th birthday surprise breakfast. Breakfast was very yum… I started with fruit salad, yoghurt and muesli. Look familiar?? Check out the recipe!

After the party my mum and I headed to a park to catch some sunshine. There were so many people out and about doing just the same thing.

We took our towels, got take-away coffees and enjoyed a good does of Vitamin D for a couple of hours.

I found a great quote on the Nike She Runs facebook page… and SO true!

Photo: Keep focused. Train mean. Eat clean. X
On that note, I am off to do just that… Body Attack time!
Happy Friday friends!
What are your  ‘staying active’ weekend plans?

Need some extra motivation to get moving? Check out these posts

16 thoughts on “Wholemeal Pizza recipe and Weekend Motivation

    • Wholemeal flour is a less refined form of flour which is made using the whole wheat grain (as opposed to white, which processes it and refines it down getting rid of a lot of the goodness, including fibre). It is a great alternative to white flour as it is low GI, which means it releases sugar slowly into the blood stream as opposed to giving you a short spurt of energy, as low GI products do.

      Will be sure to check out your quotes 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Pingback: My kind of Summer | My love affair with running

  2. Pingback: Friendship and Tea go hand-in-hand | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

