What I Ate Wednesday – Fun, Food and Fitness

I have just joined a blogging initiative entitled ‘What I Ate Wednesday’, hosted by Jenn @ Peas and Crayons.  WIAW is all about celebrating the important role food plays in our lives; for nourishing our body and for giving us the energy we need in order to the things we love.

Peas and CrayonsSo let’s celebrate food! This is WIAW..
I began the day with a hearty bowl of oats and cuppa tea.

I had to park far to catch the train today, so it was a brisk 10 minute walk to the station accompanied by a peppermint tea on-the-go.
I had lunch @ a cafe near work. Today was a toasted tuna sandwich with avocado, beetroot, spinach leaves and carrots..

With a hot chocolate on the side 🙂

On my way home from work I had a Pink Lady apple. Upside is it was so crunchy but downside.. so hard to eat when you are trying to eat it quietly and getting death stares from the nearby passengers.

I got majorly caught in the rain on my walk run from the station to my car. I was freezing so changed into my nice dry gym gear and decided to try and get to a pilates class at the gym. I made it with a few minutes to spare, so did a quick 1km warm up run on the treadmill.

Pilates is something I have always wanted to get into, but have never quite had the patience to fully embrace. I have done a few pilates ‘classes’ with my friend Liv, who is amazing at it (and a great instructor).  Tonights class wasn’t great, the instructor moved quite quickly through the exercises which didn’t really give me enough to time to get into them, but it was nice to spend a bit of time working on my core and stretch out the body. (Please excuse the awkward photo).

After pilates I came home to some of my mum’s amazing heart-warming, soul-soothing chicken soup. It is honestly the best winter dinner. It is nice and filling and has chicken pieces and vegetables in every spoonful. Thanks Mum!

That is WIAW. For now anyway..
What is your favourite after dinner treat? 
Happy Wednesday (and for those Aussies interested GO THE BLUES)!
32 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday – Fun, Food and Fitness

  1. WIAW: everything I wanted and could fit in my mouth – I rode 90 miles today, that works out to about 4,800 calories burned. Add my normal 2,400 daily requirement and that equals a whole lot of food!

  2. I’ve always wanted to try pilates. I’ve done videos but never taken a class. Perhaps soon.
    I love the idea of that simple tuna sandwich. I obviously need to eat some tuna soon!

  3. My favourite after dinner treat is most definetely chocolate … although that is kind of a 24/7 thing 🙂 … in summer it’s any type of melon or strawberries!!

  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  5. Thanks for the follow, Kelly!

    I had to lauch about the apple- I hate feeling self conscious about eating loud food in quiet places 🙂 Too bad about the pilates class, but as you say, always good to get some core work and stretching in!

Leave a Reply

