Health Benefits of Fun-Running

What a crazy and exciting few days it has been. Who would have thought that organising a run and breakfast on the beach for Breast Cancer would have been so

1. fun

2. chaotic

3. So fricken exciting!

Deliveries from my three amazing sponsors, Chobani, Lowan and Carman’s who have been so generous and delightful to work with, all arrived by 4:59pm Friday afternoon. Phew!

And then I sat back, relaxed and waited for the Saturday morning frantic rush to begin.

So, friends just for an extra burst of motivation for tomorrow, or for your next run I thought I would share my thoughts on Why I run for fun..

1) Running is a great mood enhancer and decreases my stress levels. Even if you are just feeling a bit ‘blah’, getting outdoors, listening to music and maintaining a steady pace, clears the mind and rejuvenates your mood.

2) Running keeps me feeling fit and healthy. The research is out there, running regularly can help with overall short and longterm health.  It is old news that running can improve your immune function, assist with the physical conditioning of both your heart and lungs and help with weight management.

3) Running is YOUR time! I love running alone or with company, with music or without, inside or (preferably) outside. Running is my time, to set goals and work towards achieving them.  This process has built up my self esteem and given me the confidence to challenge myself physically and mentally.

So, get on board. Running is the cheapest form of exercise. You don’t need much to get outdoors, enjoy the fresh air and reap the benefits!

If you are a Sydney-sider, please come along and join us tomorrow. We are running for Breast Cancer and hope that our contribution will assist is finding a cure in the coming years.

If you can’t join us, grab some friends, get running and feel free to make a contribution on the donation site I have set up.

Happy Saturday!

What is your favourite thing about running? Or your preferred form of exercise??

For more posts on running motivation, check out my Running and Cross Training page!

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Health Benefits of Fun-Running

  1. Congratulations for successfully organizing the event. What an awesome accomplishment :] I absolutely love the reason why you run & couldn’t help but compare all of my reasons to yours. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. My favorite thing about running is just how GOOD it makes me feel. And the fact that non-runners generally think I’m a bada$$ for running long distances 😛

Leave a Reply

