Homemade Muesli and Lean Green Smoothie!

After a fun weekend of food, drinks and repeat I decided to come home and make something light for dinner.

My mom taped a Bill Granger episode where he made muesli.. so after watching it I was inspired to give it a try. Bill was saying he lives by the philosophy that

Breakfast should be wholesome, lunch should be light and dinner should be prepared in 20 minutes.

I so agree!

So here is the muesli. I made a few modifications to his ingredients as I just worked with what I had in my pantry. The quantities are approximate, and very easy to just tailor it to your preferences.

1) In a baking tray, add 3 cups of oats, and a handful of almonds, sesame seeds, linseed and pumpkin kernels.

2) Add 2 tablespoons of oil and about 1/2 cup of apple juice.

3) Bake in 180 degree Celsius oven for about 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

4) When ready, add dome dried fruit. I went with blueberries.

So good! What I love about homemade muesli is there are no preservatives, additives or funny ingredients.  You are in full control of what goes in and you know that the ingredients are all good for you.

I transferred the muesli into smaller containers and put some in zip lock bags – perfect paired with yoghurt for a quick and easy packed lunch.

Tonight I went with a Chobani blueberry yoghurt, and added some banana, orange and a big scoop of muesli 🙂

I then made a nice green smoothie to go with it.  Kept it very simple with spinach leaves, apple and ice.  Clean, lean and green.

Dinner is now served 🙂

What is on your plate this Sunday evening?
 

20 thoughts on “Homemade Muesli and Lean Green Smoothie!

  1. I absolutely LOOOOOOOOVE your Homemade Muesli and Lean Green Smoothie! I will be trying it out sometime this week for sure! Yummy and healthy too! The smoothie is just what I need. I sometimes make a protein shake and add spinach and such but yours is light and refreshing. I love to eat healthy and work out and take care of my mind, body, and soul and your treat is just perfect for me. Thank you so much~
    😉

  2. Pingback: An Active Day Outdoors | My love affair with running

  3. Pingback: Wholemeal Pizza recipe and Weekend Motivation | My love affair with running

  4. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday #3 | My love affair with running

  5. Pingback: The Highs and the Lows of Carbs | My love affair with running

  6. Pingback: City to Surf to Cider | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

