How to throw together dinner in 3 easy steps

At my home we use a simple 3 step ‘formula’ to create delicious, healthy and incredibly satisfying dinners.

Just follow these 3 steps:

1) Choose a good quality protein. Whether it is fish, chicken, eggs, beef, lamb, tofu or lentils.  We love to do as much as possible on the BBQ, especially in Summer.  We try to minimise using processed ingredients/sauces and usually stick with olive oil, fresh herbs and spices. Good for the bank and better for your health.

2) Choose a grain and/or substantial vegetables.  Favourites for us include brown rice, sweet potato, corn or pumpkin. Alternatively a mixed stir fry with noodles can be inserted here 🙂

3) Go mad with salad! We have a large, fresh salad at every dinner sitting. We pile in the spinach leaves and add whatever vegetables we have in the fridge. Occasionally, depending on what else we are having, we will add a cheese, nuts or fruit. For dressing, we use a good quality olive oil and vinegar. Rock salt, pepper and a squeeze of lemon to add the final touch.

Spinach, Bocconcini and Cherry Tomato Salad

Spinach, Fig and Roasted Sweet Potato Salad

Roast chicken, vegetables and salad

Oven baked salmon, roast veggies and salad (click for more details on this!)

*Please not that cold winter nights call for something a bit more heart-warming.
That is tonight for us. My mums cottage pie is on the menu.. with a large green salad ofcourse 🙂

Happy dining!

Please share your dinner tips (in the comment section bellow) with me!  

14 thoughts on “How to throw together dinner in 3 easy steps

  1. Great dinner tips! My problem is I need to plan out before I go to the grocery. I always end up going in at the last minute and grabbing a bunch of items instead of planning! That fig salad looks good, surprisingly I’ve never tried figs!

  2. Pingback: What’s on my shopping list? | My love affair with running

  3. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday #3 | My love affair with running

  4. Pingback: Pump it up Wednesday | My love affair with running

  5. Pingback: Jumping back on the ‘healthy’ bandwagon | My love affair with running

  6. Pingback: My kind of Summer | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

