Health Benefits of Oats

Nothing makes a cold morning better, than a bowl of warm oats in bed ๐Ÿ™‚

Oats tick my criteria as a good food choice and are a regular in my diet for 3 main reasons:

  1. The health benefits are well researched and proven
  2. They are quick and easy to make
  3. Most importantly – they are delicious!

What makes oats so healthy?

  • Oats are low GI. ย This means that the carbohydrate absorbs into your system slowly, providing your body with energy for hours.
  • Oats contain a lot of fibre – both soluble and insoluble fibre. Fibre absorbs water, which slows down your digestive process and keeps you nice and full (for way longer than a simple sugary cereal). ย Fibre also helps to keep you regular ๐Ÿ˜‰ and has been shown to reduce ‘bad’ cholesterol levels.
  • Oats contain a wide variety of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

How I cook my oats – quick, simple and delicious!

  • Add 1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup water to a microwavable bowl
  • Microwave for ย 2 minutes on high (all microwaves are different, as is every bowl of oats. First timers, be on the watch for overflowing oats!)
  • Stir, add milk, honey or any other desired toppings
  • Eat and enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Banana and oats are an AMAZING combo!

There are so many ways to incorporate oats into your diet..
How do you do it?
13 thoughts on “Health Benefits of Oats

  1. I LOVE oats. I eat them every single day for breakfast. I even look forward to them. I do have mine with a spoonful of homemade blackcurrant jam though, but I like to treat myself in the morning. Good bit of energy food! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. After reading this I did actually have oats for the first time in ages! I hated them when I was a kid because we had them the old-fashioned way – with water and a pinch of salt ๐Ÿ˜ฅ But I have them now with golden syrup and mixed berries ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: What’s on my shopping list? | My love affair with running

  4. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #2 – Food, Fitness and Fun! | My love affair with running

  5. Pingback: Soul in a Box | My love affair with running

  6. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday #3 | My love affair with running

  7. Pingback: The Highs and the Lows of Carbs | My love affair with running

  8. Pingback: City to Surf to Cider | My love affair with running

  9. Pingback: Signing up for Speed | My love affair with running

  10. Pingback: Modified and Veggie-fied Omelettes | My love affair with running

  11. Pingback: Chile adventures on foot | My love affair with running

  12. Pingback: Enjoying the desert life | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

