Sunday PR and Baking

Sunday morning is usually my Bondi beach run day… however due to the miserable weather this morning Josh and I ended up running around the shopping centre instead.

Whilst Josh was checking out IPads, I used the opportunity to (sneakily) publicise my blog

Lol. I only managed to upload it onto 2 computers… before shame got the better of me.

I then headed home and decided to do a bit of baking.  A seeded-nut loaf seemed like the perfect idea. I called my mom for a rough ingredient list and she enlisted the help of her baking-guru-friend, Ilana.  Thanks Lanz :)

It is a pretty simple recipe and a slice of this loaf is the perfect way to fuel a workout.  It is loaded with nuts, seeds and wholegrains; making it high in fibre and protein.

To begin, turn the oven onto around 180 degrees.  Grease a loaf tin and set out all the ingredients, 2 large bowls, measuring utensils and a mixing spoon.

You can choose to use whatever nuts and seeds you like; I went with pecans, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, pepitas and linseeds.

To begin you add all the dry ingredients together in 1 bowl.

  • 2.5 cups wholewheat self raising flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • large pinch of salt

In another bowl, add the wet ingredients.

  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 cups milk

Wet mixture and dry mixture

Combine wet and dry mixtures. Add nuts and seeds to mixture.This is what I added to mine (however you can be flexible in quantities and nut/seed selection here).

  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup linseed
  • 1/2 cup pepitas
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds

Pour into loaf tin.

Pre-decorating

Combine 1 egg and a dash of water, and brush the loaf. Then sprinkle nuts and seeds to decorate!

Post-decorating, ready for the oven!

Place in pre-heated oven for about 1 hour (keep an eye on it!)

And then my friends… just wait patiently.  An aroma of deliciousness will fill your home and tease your taste buds.

Take out the oven and allow to cool, before enjoying with a cup of tea and your favourite spread.

Ready to be eaten

Happy Dad

Tea time is over and well enjoyed by all. I am off to squeeze in a body attack class @ the gym now. Happy Sunday everyone!

Whats’s on the menu for tea at your place?

12 thoughts on “Sunday PR and Baking

  1. oh my gd cant believe the bread! is this what inspired gaz to come get the bread machine??? the highlight was gaz in a gown in waipori with thumps. Keks bread looks incredible.

  2. Pingback: What’s on my shopping list? | My love affair with running

  3. Pingback: The Highs and the Lows of Carbs | My love affair with running

Leave a Reply

